Claims Criteria

The main criteria for an individual lodging a claim with the Kgalagadi Relief Trust (KRT) is as follows:

  1. Administrative Criteria:

    The claimant must have been exposed to asbestos in one of the following ways:
    1. Exposure to asbestos at a qualifying operation. These are claimants who were exposed to asbestos in the course of their work; or
    2. Exposure to asbestos from living within the vicinity of a qualifying mining operation. These are claimants who were exposed to asbestos in their living environment due to its proximity to qualifying mining operations).
  2. Medical Criteria:

    1. The claimant must have been diagnosed with a compensable asbestos-related disease caused by exposure to asbestos in one of the above situations.
  3. Criteria for Dependents of Deceased Miners to Lodge a Claim.

    1. The family of a deceased miner or person who was environmentally exposed to asbestos may also claim from the Trust. The deceased must have been suffering from either an asbestos-related lung cancer or mesothelioma at the time of death. These diseases must have been caused by exposure to asbestos from a qualifying operation as listed in Section 1;
    2. The claim must be lodged within three years of the date of death of the deceased;
    3. The claimants must be able to prove that they were financially dependent on the deceased.

All criteria must be met in order for an application for compensation to be processed.

Important Information:

  1. What Does A "Qualifying Operation" Mean?

    A qualifying operation refers to a mine, mill or other business operation which was owned by or associated with one of the Founders of the KRT.
    Qualifying operations for the KRT therefore only include mining and milling operations in South Africa which were directly or indirectly owned and/or operated by the Asbestos Investments Group at any time during the Qualifying Period. These operations are Kuruman Cape Blue Asbestos (KCB) and Danielskuil Cape Blue Asbestos (DCBA).
    The Qualifying Period means the period between 1 January 1952 and 30 September 1981.

  2. What are Compensation Categories?

    Compensation categories indicate the asbestos related diseases for which compensation can be paid.

    1. ARD1: Asbestos related pleural thickening and/or asbestosis, with mild to moderate lung function impairment;
    2. ARD2: Asbestos related pleural thickening and/or asbestosis, with severe lung function impairment;
    3. ARD3: Asbestos related lung cancer;
    4. ARD4: Mesothelioma.

    All medical records of potential claimants are read by the Specialist Occupational Medical Panel, an independent panel of occupational medicine specialists, set up by the Trustees, whose responsibility it is to assess the medical information and to evaluate each case to the best of their professional ability.