The first trustee nominated by both the Founders and the litigating attorneys on behalf of claimants was Mr John Doidge of Sentinel Trust.

Four additional Trustees were thereafter appointed. They were:

Jan De Bruyn — nominated by Gencor
Piet van Zyl — nominated by Gefco and Msauli
Sophie Kisting — nominated by claimants‟ representatives
Crosby Moni — nominated by claimants‟ representatives

Dr Kisting resigned during 2005 to take up a position with the World Health Organisation and was replaced by Mr Phiroshaw Camay.

Mr Moni resigned during 2011 to become an MP and was replaced by Dr. Lady Jood


John Richard Parker Doidge

B.Proc (UCT).
Managing Director of GMG Trust Company (SA) (Pty) Limited.

Attorney of the High Court of South Africa. Admitted in December 1980.

Joined Syfrets Trust Company in January 1982 as a Senior Trust Officer and progressed to General Manager of Fiduciary Services in 1991. Responsibility for Estate Planning, Estates, Trusts and Insolvency operations. Joined Nedbank in 1997 to start up the bank‟s Professional Bank. Formed Maitland Trust in 2000 in conjunction with Maitland International and then started what is now GMG Trust Company in 2003.

Former chairman and honorary life member of the Association of Trust Companies in South Africa (now Fiduciary Institute of South Africa) and founder and former chairman of the South African Securitisation Forum.

Director of a number of companies, including chairman of Alexander Forbes Preference Share Investment Company Limited, listed on the JSE.

Jan J de Bruyn

BSc, BEng (Civil) Stel, MBL (Unisa), AMP Diploma (Harvard).

After a 32-year career retired from the Industrial Development Corporation of South African (IDC) as Deputy Managing Director.

Served on the boards of Gencor (until its unbundling), Saldanha Steel (Chair), Algorax (Chair), Hulett Aluminium, Small Business Development Corp (now Business Partners), Methold (later changed to Nail), Technikon Witwatersrand (now part of the University of Johannesburg), National Sorghum Beer Breweries and various other IDC property development companies.

Presently Chair of the Manufacturing Development Board of the dti and a board member of the Coega Development Corporation including a member of its HR&R and AFC committees. Served for many years on the Executive of the Afrikaanse Handelsinstituut (AHI).

Phiroshaw Camay

BA(Unisa), DPM(Wits),

First employed at the Non-European Library Services, City of Johannesburg.

General Secretary of the Council of Unions of South Africa which established the National Union of Mineworkers and later the General Secretary of the Council of Unions of South Africa. Founding Director of the Co-operative for Research and Education, an information, capacity building, research, and evaluation institution. Past Chairperson of Rand Water Board, Current Chairperson of Scibono. Author of several published articles, research papers and books on elections and civil society.

Dr. Lady Jood

Qualified as Medical Practitioner (MEDUNSA) and Occupational Medical Practitioner (WITS)

Independent General Medical Practice for a number of years; Currently employed full time at KUMBA Iron Ore Sishen mine as an Occupational Medical Practitioner

Chairperson of Kwa-Thema Community Health Forum and later ANCRA.

Pieter Andries van Zyl

Chartered Institute of Secretaries and Administrators, South Africa.

Last position held: Financial Director Gefco & Msauli.

Started as Junior Clerk with Gefco in Kuruman in 1956. Promoted through to Senior Clerk by 1963. Transferred to Gefco‟s Sterkspruit Mine near Badplaas during 1963 as Mine Secretary. Appointed Mine Secretary to Gencor‟s Msauli mine April 1966 and transferred to Gencor Head Office in Johannesburg 1971 and promoted to Financial Director in 1976.

Member of the consortium effecting the management buyout of Gencor‟s interests in Gefco and Msauli 1988.
Continued as director until all the mines closed.